Las Tapas

A cosy place with simple spanish delicacies, easy to find with the yellow exterior walls on Chapel St of St Kilda… I’m so glad I was introduced to Las Tapas for a Hen’s night amongst 17 girls. I heard from the girls who organised, that it was quite hard to book. I can see why given that they were full house on the Saturday night. Our reservation was from 6.30pm to 8pm, during this time I saw many table turned around quite quickly. When we left at 8pm, there were 2-3 tables of two’s waiting to be seated!

The dining area was dim but had enough natural light to shine throughout the evening from the front doors.

We all had $45pp set menu, excl drinks. Total of 7 items, which equates to $6.43 per item, it’s not a bad deal once you’ve broken it down.
Calamari, Flat Head, Lamb Cutlets, Mediterranean Salad, Chicken Skewers, Papas Brava and Churros.

The Calamari and Flat Head came together in one dish. Both were nice and hot, lightly battered. The fish was fried perfectly, it accompanied well with the sauce.

Then came the chicken skewers and lamb cutlets. These were the highlight of the set menu! The below photo doesn’t do it justice. The lamb was cooked really well. Meat was tender and the juice was still within every bite. The skewers were also not dry with strong flavours of marinade, I couldn’t tell what kind of marinade it was, but there was definitely garlic, and something sour like vinegar.

The mediterranean salad was fresh and a good amount of dressing. I’m glad they had some kind of veggies or salad as the first few dishes had a fair bit of meat!

The other side was described as Papas Brava, the spanish potatoes. At the time I looked at the menu, I had no idea it meant roast potatoes. But boy, these potatoes are amazing! So crispy and the right size for easy eating. I could have this non-stop.

Last came Churros, we were so excited for these, when it came out, my first impression is that it was a little thinner than expected. It was a delight to have (not oily) with lots of sugar dusted on top, the disappointing part was we wished there was more… as it turned out to be 1 churro per person.

I’d love to take J here for their Lamb Cutlet, Chicken Skewers and Papas Bravos. The best was Lamb Cutlet. So I’d recommend the same for anyone who wants to try Las Tapas 🙂

Location: 100 Chapel St, St Kilda

Websitehttp://www.lastapas.com.au/

NoWongFood Rating:
Service: 5/5
Ambience: 4/5
Entree: 4/5
Mains: 5/5
Dessert: N/A
Beverage: N/A
Overall: 18/20
★★★★

Las Tapas Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment